Actually, it IS Rocket Science



This ain’t no Vegas drive-thru

Do me a favor.

Look at this girl.

She’s pretty, right?

NEEENNT!! Wrong. Sorry, that was a trick question. (It’s okay! you still get full credit! See? Everybody wins!!)

This girl is a downright knockout.

This is the kind of girl that you see in pictures that your bitchy friend will immediately begin rationalizing her attributes just to feel better about herself:

“Well, I’ll bet she’s boring.”

“Bet she has no sense of humor.”

“Probly dumber than a box of rocks.”

Which would in the process turn out to be your bitchy friend’s worst nightmare.

________

Here is a statement of health, smarts, attractiveness, and sensible understanding of the delicate science of wit.

Is there such a thing as a quadruple threat? Apparently so.

This is my cousin Stephanie, who is that proper amalgam, and also juuuust a year or two older than I am, and has for that reason remained the exemplar of what I strived to be throughout a great deal of my adolescence for the sake of cool-dom.

In fact, here’s a fun little anecdote:

Somewhere around 12 years old, when my body got REALLY gawky and clumsy and my hips began to spread so I started knocking into things involuntarily which resulted in numerous unanswerable bruises all over the place, and all I really wanted was for the boy next door (yes, there really was a boy next door) to fall in such epic love with me even though I really didn’t know what that meant at the time, my cousin came to visit and the three of us played video games in my bedroom. Steph ran out to do something momentarily and during the interim my first great crush leaned over to me and said, “Hey… I like your cousin. Is she single?”

And I went on to hate life for the next day or so. Or until our next tournament of SNES Mario Kart, whichever came first.

_____

My cousin’s great. She’s also the reason I left California last weekend so that I could take part in celebrating her marriage to her long-standing boyfriend of, god, what is it, Steph, seven years?

Geez. My car is younger than your relationship. Well playyyeeed.

Regardless, the feeling remains, and although I’ve only had the opportunity to meet her significant other a few times, I have had the chance to notice that he’s got just the perfect amount of wry wit and intelligence to match.

Photo courtesy of Leslie Callan at Green Vintage Photography- aka Missez Badass picture-taker. See hover text for link.

I’ve also had the chance to see that they’re… just… I don’t know. They’re just… good for one another. They each highlight one another’s personal characteristics as well as subtlety emphasize each other’s sense of humor.

Which is why it’s reassuring to watch someone you feel that close to in life make that sort of connection to someone else. There is a very famous-depending-upon-who-you-ask lyric from a very emo song that you should all realize by my quoting it how serious I am about this, because it will be without a doubt the last time I reference an emo song as long as I breathe.

“So I’ve been hanging out with this couple.

You know the kind who buy everything in doubles?

They fit together like a puzzle.

And I love their love and I am thankful…

That someone actually received the prize that was promised.”

And the rest kind of goes on to make you just feel like crap about the guy’s current disposition, which, being an emo songwriter ultimately means that he will eventually sing about his perpetual sadness. Which he does. It’s actually a decent album, as much as I hate to admit it (mostly because I just want to hand the guy a Costco sized box of Kleenex after listening to it). But I’m getting ahead of the subject.

We had an absolutely amazing time hanging out that week. As I mentioned before, we loaded our itineraries so full with activities it made it somewhat hard to believe that the week was over before we had a chance to take a breath. But undeniably, the highlight of the excursion was the chance to watch two people come together…Wait. The chance to watch two people who belong together, {revised}, come together, and to be able to help celebrate their union.

And that’s A LOT, coming from me, as I think you know I already mentioned how highly I placed ZIP-LINING on my list of most enjoyable events in the past week.

You guys, they were so flippin cute, and not in the sickeningly saccharine way like being forced to sit through watching a kitten falling asleep sloooowwly (which, by the way, is torture if you’re not into that crap). But how seamlessly the ceremony went off as well as the proceeding reception, (which had an AWESOME playlist, by the way; not sure I’ve been at many receptions that played Arcade Fire and Chuck Berry in one sitting) was sort of a reflection on how these two have always functioned together:

Neatly, admirably.

_______

Mazel, everybody!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris Carrington says:

    I like that emo song.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
    • I do too. I just hate admitting it because someone else will ultimately take that as meaning that I like all the other, less-well written songs, and I just can’t afford that smear on my reputation.

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Stephanie says:

    Thanks, Ash 🙂 It is actually 9 years! 9 friggin years! But what’s the difference between 7 and 9 at this point, we are so close to the double digits! 🙂 Thanks for this heart felt commentary on our wedding. I was so glad you could make it out, that everyone made it who did. We had a fabulous time.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
    • I thought so! I think I must have misheard something Jeff said during the ceremony. Pretty awesome, either way! 🙂 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
      • * Stephanie says:

        No, no, he said 7 years 🙂 I think he needed it to fit in with his joke on common law marriage on facebook 🙂 hehe. It was funny cause I didn’t cry at all during the ceremony cause I was laughing too hard at everything else!

        Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
      • i GET IT! …finally.

        Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Erin says:

    Love this! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Becca Adler says:

    You made me get all teary eyed. It was definitely a gorgeous day and an amazing experience to see two people so meant for each other tie the knot.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
    • * Stephanie says:

      I know, I got teary eyed too. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
    • I’m really glad I had a chance to meet you, Becca! Can’t wait to hear about your upcoming travels!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Meghan says:

    It seems that original wit runs in the blood of you all. Such an original post and a wonderful tribute to a fabulous week celebrating the now legal Becks!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

