Actually, it IS Rocket Science



READ.

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m getting pretty sick and tired of wall decals.

Wait, just one second.  Before I launch into this post, is anyone else completely past the “Sick and Tired” phrase?  It’s sort of lost its severity and feels more like the name of a nastyass flavored chewy candy that always gets stuck in your braces, hasn’t it?

Pay no attention to the label on the top of the box.

Anyway.  Wall decals:

Granted, these are all very inspirational thoughts and certainly ideas to ponder about life in general, but I don’t feel the need to plaster them on any clean surface you can find available.  Whatever happened to a simple daily affirmation if the situation really called for it?  I’m almost offended when I encounter these wall decals when I’m invited into a person’s home.  Like suddenly I’m brought into a life coach meeting that I never requested, or that I’m spontaneously supposed to stop mid-step while ascending the staircase and break out into a jaunt of “Singin’ in the Rain” because I just came across the most inspiring statement I’ve EVER READ (and read, and re-read, because it’s never an original phrase- it’s something your grandmother tried to hand off to you as avant garde and you later read it in a Judy Blume novel), on a WALL, no less, and I just can’t help myself.

Excuse me while I tap dance down the banister.

But there’s nothing as great in the realm of the differential styles of wall stickie-doos as those you find in households who have usually run out of Sharper Image massagers or Brookstone recliners to purchase.  Those usually coincide with the familiar “directional” wall decals that are placed in specific areas of the house, which then implore the current resident to partake in what that room was designed for.  You KNOW what I’m talking about.

THANK YOU!!  I had completely forgotten what to do in here, surrounded by food and the means by which to cook it!  And thanks especially for the reminder above my bed.  Think if I had gotten the two mixed up!  And I would have, too, I totally would have.  Luckily your overpriced acrylic stick-ons set me straight.

Maybe I’m going about this all wrong.

Maybe I’m being overly critical of the subject.

You know, having written this, I’ve actually changed my mind on the topic!  I think we should keep this trend going!! Let’s just incorporate wall decals into all the allocated rooms, what the hell?!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sula says:

    To the last decal…..Instead of just “wipe” it might read,
    “WIPE your splashes from the wall, floor & toilet seat!)”
    Tee-Hee!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

