Actually, it IS Rocket Science



Dia de las Madres (Sunday Comics pt. 5)

It is a widely known and accepted fact that my mom is way cooler than I am or will ever be.  It’s cool, it’s cool; I’ve learned to deal with this over the years.  In fact, it really doesn’t even bother me that much anymore.  I’ve just come to terms with the knowledge that friends will enjoy her presence more than mine because I still deal with mood swings and that boyfriends will want to shoot the shit longer with her than I think would ever be rationally acceptable because of her random dollops of deviant-and-at-the-same-time-hilarious thoughts.

You guys, she pulls all this off under the guise of a character who is just so-damn-nice. That’s a true example of mastery of the art of a truly lovely miscreant.  (That and she’s a knockout.)  And I LOVE her for it.  People who know my parents love to tell me I’m a hybrid of my dad’s wit and my mom’s comfort.

Those people have no idea.  My mom’s levity is so clandestine, it was underground before hipsters were even born.  How bout THAT?!

Case in point.  I’m laughing already because she won’t rest once she reads this to pin the blame on her own mother for originally placing this indecency in her mind.  But the truth is: humor is much more in the delivery than its lineage- and being that SHE dropped the bomb on ME and made the mistake of having a daughter who draws broken comics every so often, that eventually someone’s gotta take blame for this incivility.

So, Mom.  A memory.  In honor of your day.  From when I was around 5 years old:

Happy Mother’s Day, you crazy lovely woman.

(Ed. note: She insists that she never told me she was actually “boiling chicks in their shells.”  But I AM the rocket scientist, after all.  I think I’d remember these things. : )

love you, Mom.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Fried green disappointment « Actually, it IS Rocket Science pingbacked on 6 years, 5 months ago

Comments

  1. * Sula says:

    Okay….So I was lmao here on your blog…Giggling at your Mom-cartoon…Then became thoughtful about the amazing person Cathie is, and how much I love her….Then I cried big, fat, heart-welling tears at the vision of his picture…..Gorgeous, both of you! I realize how fortunate I am to know you both, to be blessed by your experiences, your intelligence, your humor, and the great love with which you do all things!!!!!! I miss your presence at this very moment. Feel my biggest, widest hugs around you both this Mother’s Day. I love you!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
    • Aw, Sula. It’s always so sweet to hear from you. I hope you had a fantastic Mother’s Day yesterday and every day as well. For a woman who had such a big hand in raising me, I feel I owe a great amount of respect to you. I just can’t think of any dirty secrets to turn into cartoons with you, which may or may not be a good thing 🙂 Love you greatly. Happy Mother’s Day, MamaSula!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
      • * Sula says:

        Ha-Ha! That’s a good thing! Also, thanks for the compliment, but I could never take credit for being even an incidental participant in a job both your parents did with such skill and wisdom! :-))

        Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  2. * the handsome sailor says:

    haha–your cartoon is FANTASTIC!!! i love the look on little ashlin’s face, when she’s contemplating an embryonic chick genocide. and your mom is awesome, of course.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

