Actually, it IS Rocket Science



Hey, Mom, look!

When I was in high school, my easiest method of departing from reality would be to close the door to my bedroom and turn on whatever subversive music I had been introduced to, such as the generics like PJ Harvey, Tori Amos, Jeff Buckley, and Sonic Youth, while playing video games for the better part of many, many afternoons.  It was my personal retribution for getting through whatever seeming crap that arose from my teachers and parents, because I was just so angst-y like that.

It was probably even more pathetic than even reads, believe it or not.

But you know how we know things about teenagers now like them needing an excessive amount of sleep, more so than adults because they’re doing THAT much growing within those years?  And how we should respect their habits even though they absolutely infuriate us from time to time?

What I’m saying is, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with falling back on those old habits that got us all through a lot of those exceedingly complicated times, because they were a means of escaping the crap that most of us handled within a timely fashion, and became more of a reward than a means of procrastination.

Which is why…

I will be spending the rest of my evening tonight in the sweet repeal from a constant C average and in the comfort of a new cumulative 4.0 GPA in the undergrad afterlife (AND blasting Kim Gordon’s “Tunic” until it makes me sick).

(ed. note: Ultimately embedded the video because I get really pissed off to watch the multiple minute-long ads that came with clicking on the link for a simple 6 minute clip.

Sooo angst-y)

Leave a Reply

