Actually, it IS Rocket Science



Things that make you go fffuuu

I had the opportunity to meet the most brilliant person alive about three years ago (ed. note: and dealt with him for the continuing three years until I finally moved out to California, so think about THAT while reading).

Most Brilliant Person Alive:  You know what I’m worried about?  North Korea.  Why isn’t anyone talking about THEM on the news?

Ashlin:  But they are.  They’re talking the crap out of North Korea on the news.

MBPA:  But not enough.  I think we should all be informed on the nucular threat North Korea has.

Ashlin:  … Wait. … Say that again?

MBPA:  What?  North Korea?

Ashlin:  No. What threat?

MBPA:  Nucular threat?

Ashlin: …

MBPA:  See what I’m talking about?  You don’t even KNOW about it!

Ashlin:  No… No. I’m very aware.  Just do something really fast for me.  Say “nuclear threat” again.

MBPA:  Nucular threat.

Ashlin:  NOPE.  Say it again.

MBPA: … Nuc-u-lar threat.

Ashlin:  You know you’re saying it wrong, yeah?

MBPA:  What?

Ashlin:  Nuclear.  You’re putting an extra “u” in the middle of it.  You’re saying it like a hill person out of “Deliverance.”  You’re saying it like George Dubya.

MBPA:  Nuc-u-lar.

Ashlin:  Say “New”

MBPA:  New.

Ashlin:  Say “Clear”

MBPA:  Clear.

Ashlin: Say “New” “Clear”

MBPA:  Nuc-u-lar.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The once and future McQueen « Actually, it IS Rocket Science pingbacked on 6 years, 4 months ago
  2. The once and future McQueen « Actually, it IS Rocket Science pingbacked on 6 years, 4 months ago
  3. Corn. « Actually, it IS Rocket Science pingbacked on 6 years, 4 months ago
  4. Fried green disappointment « Actually, it IS Rocket Science pingbacked on 6 years, 4 months ago
  5. Wake up « Actually, it IS Rocket Science pingbacked on 5 years, 11 months ago

Comments

  1. * Frank says:

    I seem to remember a long conversation about this pronunciation between Grant and I where I was arguing that as much as I disliked the president, it was a common mistake because of the pronunciation of other science words like molecular. It really is not that striking of a regional variation in pronunciation but it is still entertaining to make fun of people about it. PERSONAL CONFESSION: I sometime say nuc-u-lar when I am speaking quickly. So suck it, Red.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
    • PERSONAL CONFESSION: I noticed you pronounced it that way from time to time, and I think I may have even called you out on it once, but you are miles ahead of the idiot savant I’m speaking of, so no worries there. (Plus, let’s not forget that among the number of pointless arguments you and Grant logged, there WAS that time he refused to allow anyone to move forward on the road peacefully until you admitted we were going over the Potomac while we were still in Virginia, or some shit like that. You guys should have just made out and gotten it over with. ha!) 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
      • * Frank says:

        How’s saying we didn’t? Okay… I am. It’s the disregard for personal hygiene. There I said it.

        And yeah, “It’s the Cumberland, BITCH” still rings in my ears from time to time. In fact, the whole thing was put down in letters back in July of 2004. You can read it (although it really needs some paragraph separation and probably needs some editing) here: http://www.lemonsandbeans.com/?p=595

        Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Frank says:

    Correction: Grant said, “It’s the Cumberland, you fucking suck.” However, Wikipedia tells me that it is actually the Tennessee River. Now who sucks, Mr. Grant Widmer? The last laugh is mine! All Mine!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
    • priceless. re-reading that was like eating korean barbeque after being fed incarcerated meal plans for the past four years of one’s life.

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Airamay says:

    Please tell that I am laughing so hard right now because I am correct as to who this person is. I bet your Easter was no where near as awesome as last year’s. Remember how the bunny left you a special note?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

