Actually, it IS Rocket Science



Sunday Comics (pt 4)

I’m closing in on the final week of my first year of obtaining my Master’s degree in Clinical Psychology, for those of you who care or have accidently stumbled upon this post randomly (I promise I’m not usually this cloying).  There’s a very interesting event that goes on during the final weeks of every semester, as any person with even the most minute educational experience and recollection can attest to, which is a veritable gauntlet of activity that, while I’m not 100% sure yet, is littered with the intent of work that holds no other purpose than the sheer act of crushing the minds and souls of their masochistic saps students, and trampling on the spare bits of grey matter that are left over with a Frankenstein’s Monster’s authority.

I have charted out my following week with an acutely accurate, nearly seismographic map of how I will handle the ups and downs of the following days.  2 Finals, 3 term papers, and 1 more presentation, all due before Thursday, and I’m writing this instead of beginning work on any of them.  I can do this, right?  (NO ONE ANSWER THAT)

While I’m in class, I have a tendency to doodle during our breaks.  This isn’t necessarily intended to be humorous, but this little guy has found his way into my pages of notes since I began undergrad.  He always starts the same way- the effervescent cartwheel.  Then he starts to play the field.  One semester he backflipped into a barrel, another he somersaulted into a round-off.  I got him to play the drums once, but he was too worried about his style to let me show anyone.  It’s funny because I never actually named him, although he’s been one of my most consistent friends since my duration as a continuing educational student.

You see where this is going, right?

Somebody- please give this lil guy a name.  We’ve been pals now for so long and at this point I feel as if I should know it already and I’m too embarrassed to ask so I keep passing him with unidentifiable “Hey!”‘s and “What’s up, man?”‘s.  It’s only a matter of time until he figures it out, or heaven forbid I have to introduce him to someone else and then shit will hit the everloving fan.  And give it some props, yeah?- you might run into him again, and if he’s offended by your suggestion, that would just be awkward (for you) in the future, wouldn’t it?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Bruno says:

    Oh hi, here am I again commenting aimlessly on your post. Haha I’ve got a theory for that, though it’s not a fine thing to be heard indeed, so let me keep my thoughts out of sight.
    Well a name for your pen buddy? He could be named Al. Like, actually that’d be a nickname for Alfredo – which is the most incredible name in the world. It seems a mix between spanish, italian and some kind of texan accent, doesn’t it? I think so. I find it a nice name!
    Haha no it’s not a nice name.
    Bollox!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
    • I LIKE it! An ambiguous sounding name that ALSO represents one of the world’s most amazing foods? Think you’re onto something there… 🙂 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Barbara Liese says:

    Mr. Dood, for sure; short for “doodle”, of course.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Yo Mama says:

    Flip… definitely Flip…

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

