Actually, it IS Rocket Science



Wanna hear something brilliant?

This.  THIS is brilliant.  Remarkably so.  I’m not saying I wasn’t already a fan of both songs, but this is one hybrid that flows together so well it’s heartbreaking.  I’ve never paid that much attention to mashups before, honestly because I always found that in most cases there would be some point that seemed a bit contrived… like the person pushing the two songs together had to shift a tempo of one song or bend the key of the other, or in some cases break one song down into such small segments just so they could cram it to fit into its counterpart.  That’s not to say there’s anything bad about that when it’s done well, but I’m sort of a purist when it comes to music, as much as I hate to admit it.  And what you call butchering altering the structure of a song just to make it work for you is what I generally refer to as a blivet.

Which is why after having listened to this the first time, and then the second time, and then wondering why youtube doesn’t have a repeat button so I don’t have to stop dancing around my apartment to restart it, and consequently why life is so unfair that I can’t download this to my ipod, I realized that this is, quite truthfully, the best mashup I’ve ever heard.  Completely reinvented Gnarls Barkley’s song for me, and gave me new appreciation for Adele simultaneously.

I could go on, but you don’t actually want to watch me get all geeky on you, which I could easily do on this subject.

 

(Pro tip: move furniture with pointy edges out of the way BEFORE starting the song to avoid post-musical bruising {if you’re as unluckily uncoordinated as I am}).  Now if you’ll excuse me I can’t be bothered as I am very busy and must go wiggle around some more.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sula says:

    Pretty darn seamlesst! If anyone is not familiar with the individual pieces, they would never know it’s a mash-up!! And just so ya know….It’s 7:40 in the morning, and I’m dancin!!! Hell Yeh!!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  2. * kimbelly says:

    I wanna see you wiggle around.
    Actually, I wanna see US wiggle around.
    Whatever happened to the ridiculous video your Mom took of us at Christmas???

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

